The Cable Center Elects New Board Members

Industry innovators bring business expertise, counsel to propel the organization

December 14, 2021

DENVER – The Cable Center announced today that its Board of Directors has elected four new board members: Lou Borrelli, CEO, NCTC; Nilda Gumbs, Chief of Staff, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association; Clint Stinchcomb, President and CEO, Curiosity; and Christine Whitaker, Division President, Comcast Central Division. Each will serve a two-year term, rounding out The Cable Center Board which includes a total of 27 leaders representing the connectivity industry.

This group of industry luminaries joins The Cable Center Board of Directors during a time of growth and momentum for the organization. “The opportunity to collaborate with such distinguished leaders on our Cable Center Board is an honor and a privilege,” said Michael Willner, The Cable Center’s Board Chair and President and CEO of Penthera Partners, Inc. “Their inspiring leadership, business acumen, and unmatched industry expertise will support The Cable Center as we advance innovation and intrapreneurship to help grow our thriving and expanding connectivity industry.”

Lou Borrelli, CEO, NCTC

Louis A. Borrelli, Jr. is a C-level traditional and new media executive, investor and advisor, entrepreneur, and recognized industry leader. A pioneer in cable television, online media, and broadcast production services, Borrelli has been driving innovation in operations, marketing, business development, and new product creation for more than 43 years. Borrelli is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the National Cable Television Cooperative (NCTC) representing more than 700 broadband and cable operators operating in all 50 states and the U.S. territories serving 40 million video and broadband connections. NCTC provides operational and strategic support, purchasing power for video content, hardware, software, broadband transit, transport, products, and services.

Nilda Gumbs, Chief of Staff, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association

Nilda Gumbs is a seasoned government affairs and communications professional with more than 25 years of experience in the political, government, public relations, and community and coalition building arenas. She began her career at the National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA) in 1994. Before being promoted to Chief of Staff at NCTA, Gumbs most recently served as Vice President of External Affairs at NCTA where she was an integral part of the State Government Relations team responsible for working with state and local legislators and various intergovernmental groups on policy issues.

Clint Stinchcomb, President and CEO, Curiosity

Clint Stinchcomb is President and CEO of Curiosity, the global factual entertainment media company featuring award-winning original and curated films, shows, and series covering science, nature, history, technology, society, and lifestyle. Stinchcomb assumed his current role in 2018 and oversees the flagship Curiosity Stream streaming service, the linear Curiosity Channel, Curiosity Studios original programming, and One Day University. An entrepreneurial executive with more than 25 years of traditional and digital media experience, he has played a critical role in the launches and successful growth of several television networks, content franchises, and enthusiast brands.

Christine Whitaker, Division President, Comcast Central Division

Christine Whitaker is the President of Comcast’s Central Division, home to approximately 27,000 Comcast employees with more than 12.7 million customer relationships throughout 15 states. A 25-year veteran of the connectivity industry, Whitaker most recently served as Senior Vice President of Finance and Administration for Comcast’s Northeast Division, where she was responsible for overseeing all customer experience and financial aspects of the business for the division, which served approximately 10.1 million customers.

To learn more about the new board members, please visit our website.

“The Cable Center Board of Directors and I are honored to welcome our four newest Board Members,” said Jana Henthorn, President and CEO of The Cable Center. “Our board members’ incredible collective industry wisdom, experience, insight, and knowledge are instrumental to The Cable Center’s success. We look forward to continuing our work to create an inspiring and innovative future through The Cable Center’s mission and programs.” Henthorn, who is retiring at the end of 2021 after 17 years leading the nonprofit, will remain on the Board of Directors as the Immediate Past President.

The Cable Center Executive Committee Board Members

Michael S. Willner, Executive Committee Chair, President and Chief Executive Officer, Penthera Partners, Inc.
Jeffrey S. DeMond, Executive Committee Vice Chair, Founder and Managing Partner, Archtop Capital Management
David R. Van Valkenburg, Executive Committee Secretary/Treasurer, Chairman, Balfour Associates, Inc.
Jerald L. Kent, Executive Committee Past Chair, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Cequel III
Chris Lammers, Audit Committee Chair, Chief Operating Officer, CableLabs
Jana L. Henthorn, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Cable Center
Bridget Baker, Chief Executive Officer, Baker Media, Inc.
Paul S. Maxwell, Media-Max Advisors
Kyle McSlarrow, Senior Vice President, Customer Experience, Comcast Corporation
Robert Stanzione, Former Executive Chairman and Chairman of the Board of Directors, ARRIS

The Cable Center Board Members

Nomi Bergman, Senior Executive, Advance
Amy Blair, Senior Vice President and Chief People Officer, Liberty Global Inc.
Matthew C. Blank, Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Showtime Networks
Lou Borrelli, Chief Executive Officer, NCTC
Ann Carlsen, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Carlsen Resources Inc.
Enrique Cusco, Chief Executive Officer and Board Chair, Olé Communications
Nilda Gumbs, Chief of Staff, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association
Henry Hoberman, Chief Legal Officer, A+E Networks
Peter Lilly, Senior Vice President, Customer Care, Cox Communications
Phil Lind, Vice Chairman, Rogers Communications Inc.
Wonya Lucas, President and Chief Executive Officer, Crown Media Family Networks
Jay Rolls, Former Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Charter Communications, Inc.
Clint Stinchcomb, President and Chief Executive Officer, Curiosity
Italia Commisso-Weinand, Executive Vice President, Programming and Human Resources, Mediacom Communications Corporation
Christine Whitaker, Division President, Comcast Central Division
David M. Zaslav, President and Chief Executive Officer, Discovery Communications, Inc.
Jeffrey A. Zucker, Chairman, WarnerMedia News and Sports; President, CNN Worldwide

About The Cable Center

The Cable Center is an educational nonprofit serving the connectivity industry that advances future innovation by helping organizations develop connectivity innovators from within. Through our Intrapreneurship Academy, we enable companies to drive business growth by channeling the entrepreneurial drive of their greatest source of inspiration—their people. Our programs, expertise, and opportunity instill the leadership of our industry’s original innovators to empower a new generation of bold thinkers. Based in Denver, Colorado, The Cable Center is also the home of the Cable Hall of Fame, recognizing individuals for their outstanding contributions to the industry’s progress; and the Barco Library, the world’s largest collection of cable-related information and resources. Visit for more information.

# # #

For more information, contact:
Geneva Rodriguez, Syndeo Institute
Email: | Office: 720.502.7533

View/download Press Release PDF (65 KB

Explore More

Skip to content